About the Butter Museum


Michelle Cashman (Chairperson), Ms Margaret Moran,  Paddy O’Flynn, John O’Sullivan, Dr Colin Rynne, Prof Chris Synnott, Dr Giffin Murray

Ms Michelle Cashman.  Michelle Cashman is a former Principal of St Columba's Girls National School with Facility for Deaf Children in Cork.  Ms Cashman joined the Board in 2017.

Ms Margaret Moran is an independent public relations consultant. She was formerly Corporate Communications Manager for the Irish Dairy Board. Ms Moran joined the Board of the Butter Museum in March 2012.

Paddy O’Flynn joined Carbery Milk Products on graduation from UCC in 1967. Since then he has held a number of senior management positions in the food and drink industry in Ireland,UK and US.
On retirement he obtained an MA degree in Local History from UCC and continues to research and publish in this area. He joined the Board of the Butter Museum in 2015.

Dr Colin Rynne is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Archaelology in University, College, Cork. He has published extensively on the commercial and industrial history of Cork, including At the sign of the cow: the Cork Butter Market 1769-1924 (1998) and The industrial archaeology of Cork city and its environs (1999). He was also an editor of the multi-disciplinary volume titled The Heritage of Ireland (2000). Dr Rynne joined the Board in April 2004.

Prof Chris Synnott is the Emeritus Professor of Food Engineering, University College, Cork. He is a member of the Board of Management of Scoil an Spioraid Naomh, Bishopstown, Cork. Since his retirement, he has been active in local history. Professor Synnott has been a director of the Cork Butter Museum Limited since its establishment in 1996.

John O'Sullivan farms a pedigree Friesan herd in County Cork.  He joined the Board of the Company in 2021.

Dr Griffin Murray is lecturer in Archaeology in the Department of Archaeology, University College, Cork and Programme Director for the MA course in Museum Studies.  He joined the Board in 2022.

Visitor Statistics
Company Accounts
Policy Documents